Books Old and New at YALC

Today was my first time at YALC and what a wonderful time I had! It’s always a delight to spend time with people who love books. I mean, really love books, and there were loads of them at YALC today.

As well as just chatting, there were two stand-out moments for me. The first was fan-girling all over Kat Ellis who was also there today.

The crazy, wonderful Blackfin Sky.

The crazy, wonderful Blackfin Sky.

Kat’s debut, Blackfin Sky, is one of my absolute favourite books for 2015 (and possibly much longer), which I hope I made clear in my review way back in January this year.

Not in the least crazy, but very wonderful Kat Ellis.

Not in the least crazy, but very wonderful Kat Ellis.

And my other favourite thing (because I’m usually shy and retiring and don’t normally jump around people squealing, I love your book, I love your book!) is finding a new book or author that I’m going to love – a new world to vanish into for a visit. And I had the pleasure of discovering Anthony Ergo’s Dystopia. I do like a nice, grim dystopian story, and I love fast-paced books whatever the genre.

Well, I picked up Dystopia to have a glance at the first page – and realised on page 13 (oh, how apt is that?!) that I really ought to pay the nice man because I was clearly going to have to take it away and read the whole thing (although I may need a lie down first, because YALC is also pretty exhausting!).

And a new discovery

And a new discovery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

