EXPERIMENT IN PROMOTION – MUSIC AND LIES NOW FREE! by Gill-Marie Stewart

I thought I’d share here the experiment I’m currently doing promoting the first in my series of Young Adult books. This book, Music and Lies, came out in March 2015 and tells the story of George, 15, and Finn, 17, who meet at a music festival.MUSIC  LIES_FRONT_150dpi web

I have recently published the second in the George and Finn series, Bright Lights and Lies. Music and Lies has been generally well-received but has only had a tiny readership. This is the perennial problem for self-published authors. Even with the great support I’ve had from being part of the Paisley Piranha group, publicity and promotion is a real battle.

I decided that now I have 2 books out there, I would try to tempt readers in by offering the first book free. I can do this on Kindle for 5 days, so have started the promotion today (3rd August). Even so, it’s not that easy to get the message out. I’ve Facebooked, I’ve tweeted. It’s on Goodreads with its own ad. And it’s also, obviously, on Amazon.

I read a recent on-line article that said free promotions of the first in a series do work. I will come back to this topic in a week or two and let you know how the experiment worked for me!

How are others managing promotions? What works and doesn’t work for you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EXPERIMENT IN PROMOTION – MUSIC AND LIES NOW FREE! by Gill-Marie Stewart

  1. I haven’t published yet but have been given the same advice about the free promotion, I’m going to go online and download your book right now and I’ll spread the word to my little group of buddies too lol good luck with it 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

