My slog book

Sometimes, the only cure for a problem is hard work – and lots of it. My mantra for life is perseverance – with it you’ll achieve anything you set your mind to. Without it, nothing happens.

Right now, it’s just as well I hold that belief so strongly because my current WIP (due out 27th November, 9 weeks and counting, just in case I needed to stress myself further!!) is the book from hell.

I am enduring second book syndrome: having written and published a book once, the naive writer expects the second book to be easier. Instead, it’s entirely the opposite. When I was writing the first draft every single word was like pulling teeth and I was never happier than when I finally finished and sent it off to my editor.

The cover of Katy Haye's The Last Dreamseer

It’s got a cover … now I just need to make sure there are some words to go inside!

I’m now working through my substantive edits (that’s for big stuff like, “where does the elephant on page six get to? It’s never mentioned after that scene” and “Chapter Twelve undermines the rules you set up in Chapter Two; either magic beans turn them invisible or magic beans stop them being invisible, they can’t do both”). I had to re-write a couple of big scenes, which I was expecting, but the difficult part is that hundreds of tiny tendrils of “wrongness” creep into scenes miles away, so every sentence has to be checked for consistency with changes – and many of them have to be changed.

But. Perseverance. I wrote a lot of books before I published The Last Gatekeeper, so I know I can do it. And I WANT to do it. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was 4, so there’s no way I’m giving up now.

They say good things come to those who wait. I disagree. Good things come to those who work.

So excuse me while I get back to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My slog book

  1. It is so much hard work isn’t it! Congratulations on your coming launch. Inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

